Hutt Valley DHB Logo

(04) 566 6999

The board of Hutt Valley District Health Board (HVDHB) is responsible for governance of the DHB, setting its strategic direction and monitoring progress.

Boards of DHBs have up to 11 members – seven of these are elected every three years during local body elections. The Minister appoints up to four members and the board’s chair and deputy chair. Below are the current members of the HVDHB board.

Our Board Manual is attached here.

District Health Board meetings are held every month.

Board meeting times and previous and upcoming meeting papers are available on this website.

Members of the public who wish to speak about items on the agenda can attend the public section of the Board meeting, which begins at 12.30 pm.

To arrange to speak during the public section of a Board meeting, please contact in advance:

Board Secretary –

  • David Smol Board Chair

    Mr Smol has over thirty-five years of experience in the energy sector in the United Kingdom and New Zealand. He has worked for Conoco United Kingdom Limited, Electricity Corporation and ILEX Energy Consulting. He was part of the Contact Energy establishment team from 1995- 1996 and a member of the team that developed the rules for the New Zealand electricity market. In 2008 he was appointed as Chief Executive of Ministry of Economic Development and from 2012-2017 was the inaugural Chief Executive of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, following the merger of four government departments. Mr Smol has a Master of Philosophy, majoring in economics from Cambridge University and was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order in 2018 for services to the State.
  • Wayne Guppy Deputy Chair

    Qualified Pharmacist. Senior lecturer at the School of Pharmacy, CIT. Owned several community pharmacies in Upper Hutt in conjunction with his wife, Sue. Entered politics and was elected as Mayor of Upper Hutt in 2001 to present. Elected to the Hutt Valley District Health Board circa 2005. Held the role of Chair of FRAC and co-Chair combined HVDHB and CCDHB.
  • Josh Briggs

  • Keri Brown

  • Yvette Grace

  • Ken Laban

    A child of the great Pacific Migration when his parents immigrated to NZ from Samoa in the 1950s. Joined the NZ Police from Scots College in 1975 and served until 1991. Has also worked extensively in the private sector and in the community. Broadcaster, Regional Councillor and a member of the HVDHB since 2004.
  • Prue Lamason

    Prue Lamason has extensive experience in Local Government. She has been a Greater Wellington Regional Councillor for 12 years. She is the Chair of the Greater Wellington Holdings Company, Chair of the Greater Wellington Rail, and the Port Investments and Parks Portfolio Leader. This is her second term on the Hutt Valley DHB - "I care about the health and wellbeing of my community".
  • John Ryall

    John Ryall is a ministerial appointment on the Hutt Valley DHB. He has lived nearly all of his life in the Hutt Valley and has a long history representing workers in the health system. He has also been involved in governance positions on a number of community providers delivering primary health services for low income people.
  • Naomi Shaw

    Naomi Shaw was born in the Hutt Valley and has lived here all her life. She has two adult children and four mokopuna.
    She taught at Naenae College for 18 years before taking up a softball development role at Softball NZ where she attained success at the highest level as a New Zealand representative player, captain and coach.
    She is a Hutt Valley and Wellington Sport Legend. She was part of the NZ Sport Hall of Fame 1999, the Softball NZ Hall of Fame 2001 and the International Softball Hall of Fame 2010.
    In 2019, she was made a Member of the NZ Order of Merit for distinguished service to softball.
    She is also the recipient of a Rotary International Paul Harris Fellow Award and a Hutt City Council Civic Honour.

    Her experiences with the health sector have been as a patient and support person for others. She has strong admiration for those who work in this sector for their dedication and commitment to doing what is right. She knows leadership well and feels honoured to be elected onto the HVDHB Board to help serve the community.

    She has a strong community spirit through her connections, and enjoys being involved with the multitude of activities her grandchildren are involved in. When time allows, she and her family like to get away in their motorhome, Mere, and park somewhere where the fishing and diving is good.
  • Richard Stein

    Dr. Stein and his family moved from the States to NZ in 2007. He is a physician/gastroenterologist and has worked at Hutt Valley DHB, Wairarapa Hospital, and Northland DHB. He is also Chairman of the Crohn's and Colitis NZ Charitable Trust. He has a long history of patient advocacy and helped create camps for children with chronic illnesses in both the States and in NZ.